top of page

Frequently Asked Questions

Where do I start first?

Most students state with addiction counseling classes.

Check with the

Alcohol and Drug Certification Board of Georgia

for information on classes and certification requirements

What  do I need to do to get certified?

The THREE general requirements include

substance abuse education, clinical supervision and work experience.  

Please review specifics for your state certifying board:  

Alcohol and Drug Certification Board of Georgia.

 

Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor - T (CADC-T)

This is for students working toward the full CADC credential,

but shows a designation of CADC-T (essentially a counselor in training).

The requirements include:

Minimum high school education

50 hours of substance abuse education

(Click here CADC-T online course)

30 hours of supervision with a certified clinical supervisor

300 hours of work experience in substance use disorder treatment

and your application fee.

Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor - I (CADC-I)

The requirements include:

Minimum high school education

300 hours of substance abuse education

300 hours of supervision with a certified clinical supervisor

6000 hours of work experience in substance use disorder treatment

and your application fee.

 

Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor - II (CADC-II)

The requirements include:

Minimum Bachelor Degree in Human Services

300 hours of substance abuse education

300 hours of supervision with a certified clinical supervisor

4000 hours of work experience in substance use disorder treatment

and your application fee.

 

Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CAADC)

The requirements include:

Minimum Masters Degree in Counseling or

License eligible masters or doctoral degree in behavioral health sciences

180 hours of substance abuse education

200 hours of supervision with a certified clinical supervisor

4000 hours of work experience in substance use disorder treatment

and your application fee.

Can Independent Study course count for my education?

Yes, the board will accept continuing education in the form of

college courses, education with an approved provider.

Click here for my Online School of Addiction Studies.

 

Does payment for my classes expire?

Yes, you have 6 months to take your classes from your date of payment.

What happens if my classes are getting ready to expire? Is there a refund?

No. However, extenuating circumstances may be reviewed by ACTS Consulting.

You can transfer your fee to another person.

 

Is the payment for my classes transferable?

Yes - you can have someone else attend in your place.

Your class payment will still expire in 6 months unless approval is given by ACTS Consulting

prior to expiration date.

Can I take online classes (independent study)?

Yes. Click here for my Online School of Addiction Studies.

Independent studies may be acceptable for your education.

This requirements is specific to the certification board.

What about college classes. Can those count?

Yes, you can receive credit for college hours, as long as the course content is related to

the social services area. You may still need courses required by the board content for

your initial certification application.

How will I know if my college classes will count?

This will be reviewed by the certification board during your application phase.


 

It is each student's responsibility to know the requirements of

the board that issues your credential.

bottom of page